Goodbye Elon goodbye

B. Jay Cooper
3 min readNov 2, 2022

I decided to quit Twitter.

I don’t expect the Earth to stop because of that nor do I even expect the few likes my posts used to (sometimes) get to miss me. But, finally, Twitter got me.

Honestly, it’s not like I even looked at it every day. I didn’t.

It took a buildup, I confess.

First, it was the phony information that made Twitter all atwitter.

Then, it was tracking ex-President Trump’s tweets. Why, I’m not sure, because they always made the news in nanoseconds anyway so I couldn’t fall behind by much.

Twitter finally started suspending accounts for distributing false or threatening information. Unfortunately, they didn’t suspend accounts for just being stupid (I guess because then Twitter would get far fewer postings plus, SENATOR Herschel Walker may be on his way).

Of course, there were those many irrelevant ads. I’d click to not see them anymore and other…

--

--

B. Jay Cooper

Former deputy White House press secretary (Reagan and Bush 41) and former head of communications at Republican Natl Committee. My blog: bjaycooper.com.